The joker;

n1270740085_50795_5167

“A joker is a little fool who is different from everyone else. He’s not a club, diamond, heart, or spade. He’s not an eight or a nine, a king or a jack. He is an outsider. He is placed in the same pack as the other cards, but he doesn’t belong there. Therefore, he can be removed without anybody missing him.”
— Jostein Gaarder (The Solitaire Mystery) 

“It’s not a silly question if you can’t answer it.”
— Jostein Gaarder (Sophie’s World)

“That is part of the beauty of all literature. You discover that your longings are universal longings, that you’re not lonely and isolated from anyone. You belong.”
— F. Scott Fitzgerald

“In a real dark night of the soul it is always three o’clock in the morning, day after day.”
— F. Scott Fitzgerald

“In his blue gardens men and girls came and went like moths among the whisperings and the champagne and the stars.”
— F. Scott Fitzgerald (The Great Gatsby)

I haven’t been updating for awhile, and have been raging and musing through pages of criminal law articles- still haven’t managed to tell between the array of colourful Singapore case title names, though the law is straightforward enough. I like it more than my previous textbook, Sullivan, definitely, but possibly because of scope I am thinking things too simple. Ah well.

As I told Beansprouts, had my work assessment on Friday! It was one of the most straightforward and enjoyable work assessments I have ever done, and I really appreciate my boss’s meticulous coverage of points and his endeavour to really hone our team to become a group of seasoned and experienced investigators. I think my past several working experiences have been beneficial for me, working with people who have an eye for detail, for it encourages the discipline of turning every stone over, and always keeping an eye out to finish things within the allocated time. I think my main weakness is my impulsiveness- as I like to get things done quickly, I sometimes overlook the tiny details. At the same time, I have a tendency to lounge on hours of inefficient research (something which is a boon to law school and a bane to working life).

And the big boss bought all of us cinnamon buns! *haha I was so happy to see one- I had no idea they existed in Singapore? I remember the days walking down soft evening streets, holding on to a bag of my favourite salmon sushi (what was the name of the style I liked it in again, Beansprouts?) and munching on a perfect cinnamon bun.

There is a story to the cinnamon buns, for one time when I was out with ST- in Piccadilly Circus no less, after exiting the arcade…ST was on his way back and I started to miss ST already…do you understand it, the last minutes of longing for someone just as he departs? On our way running towards train stations (strangely, our meetings tend to end that way haha, the unforgettable running to catch last trains) , it is as though a thought entered his mind, and he entered a cinnamon bun shop, bought one, and thrusted one into my hand, with I, protesting that I did not have a liking for such confectionaries.

(Because you see, such protests are relatively common, for I had always thought I had came to a conclusions of my likes and dislikes at an early stage);

But somehow the first bite made me thoughtful, and combined with the memory I realized I liked it. It was also with ST that I took my first bite of Belgian waffles (in Belgium, no less); my first bite of a mother’s home made sandwich, my first cheese fondue, my first quail and rabbit, my first melba bread (ST’s favourite), my first tea in Dorchester, my first bite into a heavenly scone and seven-hour cooked lamb at the Waldorf…

For a food lover like I am, my food generally relates to experiences. And with ST, somehow the little moments grew to be part of the little confectionary of a cinnamon I bit into in the quiet of the office. Genuine critique wise, it cannot compare to London, but how can you ever compare sitting down with a scone in Singapore to London? Singapore has its own memories, just as some things always fit best in the context of London.

On another note, I have started work on making this little keyboard cat! There is a cute little tutorial for it which I found here and though it is quite tricky, I am enamoured by the turning keys that I thought I’ll start. Of course, realistically, I don’t need a keyboard cat, for even poking my cat a little in the tummy already produces keyboard noises like ‘brooong’ and ‘brrrr’ haha! Who needs Rachmaninoff when you can have a kitty!

papercraft-keyboard-cat

~~

And no surprise, studying brings out a temptation for online shopping…I got a new AP beret I absolutely adore…

princess_ribbonrabbit-img269x480-1254107859bi7j9w72889princess_ribbonrabbit-img269x480-125410785928mkiv72889

and an ETC ballet pointe-shoe skirt! I adore anything with a pointe shoe print, and have been building up an ETC pointe-shoe collection I always try to get a piece each time they produce this print

208353112_1

I am also in love with this little girl! I think I have been in love with random little girls nowadays haha …but I always listen out for questions which little girls ask their mothers on trains. They tend to have a certain Jostein Gaarder air to them…like… “Mummy…if you fit a giraffe into the MRT (Singapore’s version of the Tube), will its head touch the sky?”

kare310-img600x450-1255424666urnt3k96539

Will write more next time, perhaps…back to the books!

Leave a Reply

