A Study in Scarlet;

I consider that a man’s brain originally is like a little empty attic, and you have to stock it with such furniture as you choose. A fool takes in all the lumber of every sort that he comes across, so that the knowledge which might be useful to him gets crowded out, or at best is jumbled up with a lot of other things, so that he has a difficulty in laying his hands upon it.” – A Study in Scarlet

“He smiled gently. “It is of the first importance,” he cried, “not to allow your judgment to be biased by personal qualities. A client is to me a mere unit, a factor in a problem. The emotional qualities are antagonistic to clear reasoning. I assure you that the most winning woman I ever knew was hanged for poisoning three little children for their insurance-money, and the most repellent man of my acquaintance is a philanthropist who has spent nearly a quarter of a million upon the London poor.” – The Sign of the Four

“I am not the law, but I represent justice so far as my feeble powers go.” – The Adventure of the Three Gables

“Circumstantial evidence is a very tricky thing,” answered Holmes thoughtfully. “It may seem to point very straight to one thing, but if you shift your own point of view a little, you may find it pointing in an equally uncompromising manner to something entirely different.” – The Boscombe Valley Mystery

I wish that Arthur Conan Doyle had been a Bentham and written endless scripts of Sherlock Holmes stories! I was addicted to the stories for several weeks and felt a little sorry when I finished the last – The Adventure of the Three Students – which was really fascinating. Admitably much of it is the style of writing I am drawn to, and as L and I have always had a strong interest in detective whodunits and the like, re-reading Sherlock Holmes was an endless delight on the plane compared to the usual sleepy list of mid year movies. I don’t know really what to occupy myself after really, for after work, one wants a light hearted book with a tangible and addictive plot, unlike One Hundred Years of Solitude which Beansprouts is currently reading. But I have had an interesting script introduction, for Neil Simon’s Murder by Death, alongside the detective theme (yes, I submerge and read in sudden, impulsive themes!) A visit to the Esplanade library again is due, and to finish the American comedy scripts perhaps, and also re-read more of August Strindberg which was always something I wanted to do.

(An excerpt of quotes from just one character, Inspector Sidney, that I found from Neil Simon’s Murder by Death’s Wiki page, and already I am quite addicted! If only I could stage this play!)

  • Conversation like television set on honeymoon…not necessary.
  • Questions like athlete’s foot…after a while, very irritating.
  • Man who argue with cow on wall like car with no wheels, very soon get nowhere.
  • Treacherous road like fresh mushroom…must always— [Willie drives the car away.] Idiot! Not finish mushroom story! You Idiot!
  • Someone gone to great trouble to make welcome guests, not so welcome.
  • Son will get bags. That is why I adopted him.
  • Big house like man married to fat woman…hard to get around.
  • No pulse. No hearbeat. If condition does not change, this man is dead.
  • Answer simple, but question, very hard.
  • Someone just put deadly snake in room. Wake me when it come near bed.
  • You feed cat…dog food?
  • Miss Marbles, I have admired you since I was tiny little detective.
  • Voice come from cow on wall!
  • Room filled with empty people.
  • He loved me very much, but he was not very observant. One day when I was nineteen, he called me to his study, realized for the first time that I was Oriental, and kicked me out of house!

The recent examinations ended quite suddenly – I remember walking out of the building, and there was a waiting car, with a big dog, a German Shepherd or a Dachshund (spell?) sort of dog, with beautiful floaty ears, looking longingly in my direction. I imagined its owner beckoning to the dog, and the dog looking forward to this moment as the best part of the day. There is something in me which admitably crumbles to childish squeals at the end of the day when my cat runs towards the door at my arrival for a tiny embrace, and the ‘daily rub’. I would also love to have a big dog, a big dog which would arrive in a car after work, and to fall asleep against a big dog in the middle of a book, a lurcher would be Aristocratic and mischievous, and thoroughly loyal (unlike the window shopping cat). In my loneliness, there is something indisputably tender about the soft furry body of a purring cat. Although I also have a penchant for the most ridiculous expressions she produces!

CIMG4634

In the course of examinations, I had skipped meals to save on time, so a food celebration after was well due! One thing I had missed was snow ice, so I visited this little shop in J8 which was reputed for its desserts…

CIMG4651

Nothing like snow ice to mark the end of examinations! It wasn’t excellent, but because of my memories of the past few times having snow ice, it was a lovely time all the same, walking around aimlessly pass shops without a care in the world.

I also had a strange desire to visit the Night Safari (law exams=desire for wild animals?!) and so off I went! I just adore the walking paths (never, never take the tram unless you desire to see absolutely nothing) and the sweet darkness and silence on the walking trails. I was enamoured with the little otters, and lingered at the otter exhibit for the longest! The pangolins, civet cats and wolves were curiously peeping through the darkness without any visible physical presence… But I did manage to see a leopard, and even patted his paw (albeit through a glass wall). I love the fact that the Night Safari remains an open enclosure, and despite the artificiality, I liked it much more than the London zoo (which we all boycotted).

(My very bad pictures below as taken by my dying camera…(I repel ions, anything electronic will die around me)…The otters, the growling (or what sound do leopards make?) leopard, and if you squint very hard, the last picture is of a little porcupine!

CIMG4667

CIMG4692

CIMG4685

One thing though, I felt as though I was surrounded by only couples or children!

The last time I was at the Night Safari, it was for the Creative Arts Programme creative writing course (utterly a failure creative writing wise, for most of us didn’t really write anything except for some dirty and mischievous pieces about otters and shadows of civets haha!). This time, since time allowed, I also had dinner at the cafe, which served a range of local dishes. (Indeed it catered to the tourists, for my favourite sambal stingray at $17 and a mere sugar cane drink for $8!) But I enjoyed the meal immensely with the lighthearted sarong party girl type local music haha, being a tourist in my own country!

CIMG4654

CIMG4655

CIMG4653

These few days have experienced rather random down periods, but brightened up during lunch periods with the team, I love the carefree and lighthearted banter we have, and the way they earnestly put forth their legal opinions or talk about criminal cases existent in Singapore. There is a certain unabashed honesty in some of the members of the team, or the joking quips of my boss, which make the lunch hour quite memorable, thinking back to the long afternoons of banter in first year. I often tell Beansprouts, I really like the teams, which is fortunate to have in my first year of work.

But yes, indeed how can I even begin to speak of how much conversations with Beansprouts have meant to me? To have spirited conversations about anything at all, singing random musical tunes that we both know so well, to speak in subtle legalese, recall memories and strange suspicions, even mischievous chatter and a realization, that if not for Beansprouts, I wouldn’t have my sanity, and indeed, the ‘hunny feeling’ of waking up in the morning recalling the conversation topics from the night before! Beansprouts draws things from my mind which I never even knew I was thinking about, and is sometimes brilliantly acerbic in ways you never thought possible. Sometimes, it feels that the rest of my day is hibernation till the moment that I have the warmth of a happy familiar voice over the phone again. I like Beansprouts, I think he must be like Mary in Mary Poppins where “Beansprouts makes your ‘eart so light, when the day is gray and ordinary, Beansprouts makes the sun shine bright!” I think though if we ever have a quarrel it would be frightfully legalese and both of us will be stubborn lawyers who will simply refuse to budge – we need Peanut diplomacy!

Still, I maintain I need more girlish company in my life, girls who will fawn over pretty things, the ‘peaches and cream’ of the song Carousel, for my friends all seem to be either male or very pragmatic females! Yet I am a dilettante and get bored very easily, it is hard to captivate my attention, admitably.

Now that the law examinations are over (I hope I passed, I think I did), the next hurdle to cross is the Chartered Financial Analyst qualification part 1 … *gulp which means days of hard studying and mathematical calculations again, perhaps starting from the beginning of December as I am enjoying my newfound freedom to much. I must think about Simon, and try to think like Simon, and have confidence! I love finance and at least the material will be familiar and interesting, just very extensive. I would love to find a studying partner, but I am not sure who is preparing for the June 2010 exams as well.

For the moment, to look forward to the weekend – I am meeting with I tonight for a nice japanese dinner of udon and soft shell crabs, visiting the Hello Kitty lab on Saturday,  going for the Glen Goei production with L and J this Sunday, and maybe the Shanghai Toy Museum afterwards, topped off with a really girly sleepover, where I will get to meet L’s new hamsters, Pillow and Blanket!

Will write again soon…its been a long time!

I have new waves…and strangely, the day I got them, my mother went to get waves too…(and we both did not know of each other’s intention to get waves…) Mother-daughter connection?

CIMG4719a

Leave a Reply

