Chisato’s Whale;

Picture shared from Jemppu’s coordination blog, she matches lovely daily sets from daily living and I adored these winter waffles which she made for Christmas!

“I can talk to you and you to me without a scrap of effort, and that’s the essence of a relationship. It’s made up of things as small as the diameters of  hairs (like yours) and as big as life and death……. One only dreams of friendships like this and never believes that it actually exists. It’s the rarest luck, the wildest, most impossible accident. Most people, I know talk uneasily in unfamiliar tongues, to be afraid of the knowledge the other one has, of the other one’s perpetual misjudgement and misunderstandings. “
from Ann Veronica — A Modern Love Story  by H G Wells

I came across this picture today and suddenly a wave of memories came rushing back – do you remember this same corner, Beansprouts? I remember walking further ahead with you, and we were sharing a box of strawberry pocky… and I remember you said something ambiguous about pocky … and it was cold and we were tired… but still there was something bubbling and happy inside when I am with you… This was in second year. When you ask me whether I remember second year memories, this is one of those.

I tried to find the provenance of the above painting, wondering about the history of it (why did the artist choose to paint the side, and not the main entrance of the British Museum)? Still for me it was the corner which evoked the most memories, in the blinking of an eye.

“After seeing the two Hammershoi works owned by British museums, one of which may never be exhibited publically, Palin travels to the apartment near the British Museum where Hammershoi stayed with his wife around 1905 during his visit to London to meet Whistler, his hero. Finally gathering the courage to knock on the door of Whistler’s studio, the shy Hammershoi finds nobody home. Never finding the courage again, he never meets his hero. Hammershoi can’t even come face to face with the British Museum itself, choosing instead to paint the side rather than the face of the building, concentrating mainly on the fencing around it. Faces trouble Hammershoi when painting, even that of his wife Ida, the model for so many of his interiors. Growing up, Hammershoi loved the works of Vermeer, studying intently the effects of light and mood in his interiors. But, whereas Vermeer’s interiors tell some story , however brief, Hammershoi refuses to give anything up, turning his back to the viewer, suggesting a story but never sharing it.” – “Out of the Shadows” on Palin

There is a Chinese poem I love alike the above….but I don’t know where I have kept it anymore, of a man who climbs a mountain to realize the man he respects is not at home, and has gone fishing. Dejected, he climbs down the mountain, remembering the memories he had of that man.

Monet may be the greatest gardener in art history. When Renoir needed material to paint in his garden scenes, Monet helpfully provided the bulbs from his own garden. Monet’s garden at Giverny now exists as an Impressionist Eden for the tourists, a living habitat of Monet’s artistry. I remember seeing Monet’s Garden, the Irises (above, from 1900) at the Musée d’Orsay in Paris and wondering at the power of the colors. Rather than fade into the somberness of so many other painters in their final years, the wages of the weight of years and experience, Monet explodes into color, raging against the dying of the light with his own inner light splashing across the whole spectrum. Van Gogh takes color into a whole new sphere in his art, but it should not be forgotten that it was Monet who helped pave the way for others to shine.” – ‘First Impressions’ on Monet

I wish I visited the Musee d’Orsay when I was in Paris too. When I go again, perhaps I’ll be like your father Beansprouts, enraptured by the paintings for the whole day? Sometimes I remember your father’s boyish and enchanted face when he recalls Paris. I remember he described Paris as ‘romantic’, and talked of the cafes and the walks he had with your mother. I never discovered the romance of Paris as your father did, but I do think it might be a place I visit again (without the Champs d’ Elysees which was an utter bore) and our bohemian bookshop!

I felt like writing more again, at the beginning of a long weekend. At this moment as I write, the cat decides to plop herself in front of the screen, and I am forced to picture the words as I write, and she seems happy that she is subject to my visual attentions. She is understandably demanding on Saturday mornings, knowing that it means lots of stroking by the family household over the reading of papers and sleepy-eyed hugs.

Today we had a team lunch, which I’ll write more about when I upload the pictures then, at a really funky hotel called ‘Hotel Re’ which had disco snowflakes and 80s bar lights. It was so incongruous, my colleague SY even quipped she now had an opportunity to see us ‘in a different light’. SY is one of the most extroverted lawyers on my team, and having worked in Hong Kong for many years, often shares interesting stories from her Hong Kong life and snippets of daily insights. She is also often the starter of jurisprudential debates on the role of lawyers in modern society at the lunch table, and is a fellow new cat lover, nursing an aristocratic type cat suitably called Omega. She is also a ballet dancer and patron of the arts, and often I secretly stay at her desk a bit longer to see the beautiful posters from various performances.

The food was pretty good, but despite us ordering an array of Italian dishes like lagsana, pasta and the like, we came to realize that M’s dish of mee goreng was actually the most tasty and best dish. I’ll describe this local dish in time : ).

A new girl, SH, also just joined recently, and she came in from a firm I used to intern at. I immediately liked her, for she is forward and outspoken in her opinions, and yet is really sweet and caring towards others. She is one of those I can speak happily with for long periods, over green tea lattes ~ Every now and then, she also sweetly cheers me up with a muffin or two – which perks me up considerably in the afternoons, as I have very much a sweet tooth! She loves Japan as well, and we often chat happily about things we like about the food and others! Today, she wore her ‘happy’ dress since it was casual wear in the office, and I couldn’t resist taking a shot with her in her happy dress, which so reminds me of Tsumori Chisato’s designs.

N ‘analyzed’ the features of the dress for us – N concludes the ‘cloud’ has to be a tsunami, since it arises out of the water, and the ‘ball’ is actually a life buoy, and there are even little jellyfishes in the pattern! She matches it with a pink belt from another dress which I think is perfect with it. GF also similarly loved this dress and declared her two little boys would have clamoured around to draw ‘extra’ items with chalk into the dress!

Do you have a ‘happy dress’ too?

Leave a Reply

