The Luddite finds a new toy;

Brimming with excitement, naturally, but after some research, finally settled on the Canon 450D/Rebel XSi. I had actually been contemplating getting the Canon EOS 5D as some of my friends use the latter and have had nothing but praises for it, but I thought to start with an entry level dslr till I am am actually sure of what I want, haha!

I had been also contemplating Nikon entry level dslrs, or the pretty vintage Leicas, but chose Canon as servicing it would be easier and they have a pretty nifty lens outfit should I choose to upgrade to better lenses later on.

On the Canon 450D : http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/CanonEOS450D/page3.asp 

Specs of the Canon 450D:

  • 12.2 Megapixel CMOS sensor
  • Canon’s EOS Integrated Cleaning System
  • 3.5 frames per second
  • 3.0” LCD with Live View shooting
  • 9-point wide-area AF system with f/2.8 cross-type centre point
  • Picture Style image processing parameters
  • DIGIC III image processor
  • Digital Photo Professional RAW processing software1
  • Compact and Lightweight body
  • Fully compatible with all Canon EF and EF-S lenses and EX-series Speedlites

I played with the EOS 500D version in the shop, but figured out that the extra megapixels didn’t matter to me at this stage, and I hardly use video functions (and if I do, easier to whip up my handy old’  dc which I’ll probably keep for off the cuff images (the replacement batteries were pricey, after all).

I got the EOS 450D body, a 50mm f 1/8 II lens(for casual use), a uv filter and a relatively light travel tripod for the moment. I didn’t opt to get it with the kit lens, as S advised I try it out first and get a better lens as the 18-55mm IS kit lens is ‘subpar’ as she terms it, but the better ones are too much for a beginner at this stage. S, I’m stealing your lenses from time to time to try them out till I figure out which are more suitable! Any opinions from the photography experts – should I just get a second hand kit lens at this stage?

Most of my camera junkie friends are into sports photography – racing cars, sports, and the like. My interests are more deviant from theirs, so I suppose I will have to discover much for myself! Hope to meet SassyStrawberry to learn from her too, I hear she is a photography guru! I often take night photographs – probably have to learn how to master the EOS 450D for this, too.

2 responses to “The Luddite finds a new toy;

Leave a Reply

