Keep love in your heart. A life without it is like a sunless garden when the flowers are dead. The consciousness of loving and being loved brings a warmth and a richness to life that nothing else can bring. – Oscar Wilde

One of my favourite memories – movie nights with Will and Beansprouts, snug in a big sofa in Will’s cosy London apartment (somehow I always thought it as such), on coke floats and strange movie choices for the evening – The Squid and the Whale was one such instance, and Stephen King’s Carrie- I think we were laughing more than anything else – and Princess Momoke – where I carried on a 10 minute conversation with Will before I realized he had fallen asleep (alas! the revelation of how vivacious am I!)

Thus it was bearing these lovely memories in mind that I came across this movie review yesterday by John Powers, albeit an old movie, but something I want to watch (despite the fact that The Squid and the Whale really disturbed me);

“Movies about summer romance are like old standards in musicthe trick is to make them seem fresh. Set in 1987 Pittsburgh, Adventureland offers a tender spin on the story of a naive college grad trying to become worldly enough to win the girl of his dreams. Jesse Eisenberg is hyperarticulate James Brennan, who, to pay his way through Columbia’s Journalism School, takes a summer job at Adventureland, a crumbling amusement park with crooked games, goofy rides, and a resident Lothario. Like everyone else there, James starts to regress, until he meets his alluring, tart-tongued co-worker Em, who’s sophisticated in ways he never imagined.

Adventureland was written and directed by Greg Mottola (The Daytrippers), a sneaky smart filmmaker who knows how to make a story about young people appeal to grownups. Wielding a sly sense of period nostalgia, he deftly uses the park’s childishness as a metaphoric backdrop for James and Em’s struggle with tricky adult emotions. The slight story is kept aloft by his charismatic young stars. As he showed in The Squid and the Whale, Eisenberg is terrific at playing passionate characters of their own intelligence.”

I was feeling terribly down the night before… …But then Beansprouts inordinately appeared at the right time and cheered me up so much…and made me laugh so much at so many moments (which is a difficult thing to do when I was reading about inventories and long-lived assets at the other end)

And now when I play Anita O’ Day, I will think of you. And of course, your interpretation of Honeysuckle Rose. Thank you Best Friend!~

Doesn’t that girl with the hat and the camera remind you of me, and doesn’t that girl who ONLY cared about her scone remind you of you?

Some people ask me why I love jazz. Sometimes I think, it is partly because of the jazz crowd. A jazz crowd is absurd, particular, atavistic, in more ways than one – they never order the same thing, they order tons of the same things, there is no love in a love song – the same moments make the same individuals come alive.

And Tea for Two is great- I didn’t even recognize it was that! These two songs are not my favourite, but what a performance from Anita O’Day! And the very songs I want to play to wake you up in the morning, dear Beansprouts!

Leave a Reply

