Hymne à L’Amour – Edith Piaf

Le ciel bleu sur nous peut s’effondrer,
Et la terre peut bien s’écrouler,
Peu m’importe si tu m’aimes,
Je me fous du monde entier.
Tant qu’ l’amour innondera mes matins,
Tant qu’mon corps frémira sous tes mains,
Peu m’importent les problèmes,
Mon amour, puisque tu m’aimes.
J’irais jusqu’au bout du monde,
Je me ferais teindre en blonde,
Si tu me le demandais.
J’irais décrocher la lune,
J’irais voler la fortune,
Si tu me le demandais.
Je renierais ma patrie,
Je renierais mes amis,
Si tu me le demandais.
On peut bien rire de moi,
Je ferais n’importe quoi,
Si tu me le demandais.
Si un jour, la vie t’arrache à moi,
Si tu meurs, que tu sois loin de moi,
Peu m’importe si tu m’aimes,
Car moi je mourrais aussi.
Nous aurons pour nous l’éternité,
Dans le bleu de toute l’immensité,
Dans le ciel, plus de problème,
Mon amour, crois-tu qu’on s’aime?
Dieu réunit ceux qui s’aiment.

translation:
The blue sky can tumble down upon us
And the earth can also collapse
It doesn’t matter, if you love me
I don’t care about the entire world
As long as love floods my mornings
As long as my body trembles beneath your hand
These problems don’t matter
My love, since you love me

I would go to the end of the earth
I would dye my hair blonde
I would go take down the moon
I would go steal a fortune
If you asked it of me
I would disown my country
I would disown my friends
If you asked it of me
People can have a good laugh at me
I would do anything
If you asked it of me

If one day life tears you from me
If you die that you be far from me
It doesn’t matter, if you love me
Because, me, I will die also
We will have eternity for ourselves
In the great blue immensity
In the sky, no more problems
My love, do you believe we love each other
God reunites those who love each other

“Edith Piaf spent much of her urchin childhood with her grandmother, a Parisian street performer. By the mid-1930s she had become one of Paris’s most in-demand nightclub acts and a popular recording artist. Her songs—”Non, Je ne regrette rien” and “La Vie en Rose” in particular—were international hits later covered by artists as diverse as Marlene Dietrich and Grace Jones. But her various marriages, affairs and friendships with the likes of Jean Cocteau, not to mention her alcohol and morphine addictions, cemented Piaf’s edgy otherness right up until her death from cancer in 1963. To this day her grave at Pere Lachaise Cemetery attracts more visitors than any other.” – Nowness

We have not watched La Vie En Rose together, Beansprouts. We meant to, but haven’t. Today the song came back to my mind, and I thought of the above one too.

Everything has been going wrong today, and there is a stirring sense of solitude – it is not autumn- but the leaves outside my door have all fallen. Somehow there is a constant loneliness, which you abate to a certain extent when I hear your voice over the phone or see my cat, but I wonder whether you might understand this loneliness, though you are far, far away.

I think of burying myself in a happier book.

Leave a Reply

