Carla Bruni – Quelqu’un m’a dit

Carla Bruni – one of my favourites from my French music collection.

This melancholy song from which Bruni’s debut album draws its name speaks of the sadness of life – “On me dit que nos vies ne valent pas grand chose, / Elles passent en un instant comme fanent les roses.” (“They tell me that our lives are not worth very much, / They pass in an instant as roses wilt.”) – and that time and fate (destiny) care nothing for us. She forlornly hopes that “you still love me” – “quelqu’un m’a dit / Que tu m’aimais encore,” (“Somebody told me / that you love me still”) – recalling that somebody told her, but she can’t remember who.

Leave a Reply

