“Look at the stars, look how they shine for you, and they were all yellow…” – Coldplay

Yellow is very much my new favourite colour. I crave a pair of bright yellow heart-heel pumps, and a DKNY yellow chiffon original – but in their absence the lovely girls of ATBU have ‘smooched’ a darling substitute in what they call the fluorescent ‘sugar rush bandeau’ dress. Tabio has also done a sweet version of mini bow ribbon tights, and I love bows on anything.

Nothing quite like walking by the river dreaming of places and discovering hidden cats and secret dimsum places (and coming across swearing traders). In those moments I was transported back to the time when I was a youngish 17, watching plays nearby and the pasta and wine sessions at night – and feeling as though life was full of possibilities! Each time I am in the area I always end up undoubtedly lost, and never do I know the proper names and ways of the area, except that I turn up here again absurdly at different parts of my life, each time with a different person, and each time with a different agenda in my life. How strange, and this time even the chocolate shop has transformed into some Asian restaurant with soccer and beer beckoning in the distance.

I was searching for an old restaurant of my past – but it was no longer situated there. When I was a child, we would go there for our Sunday weekly fancies, and I recall the most wholesome chicken and buttered corn dishes, a delicious array of puff pastry soups, baked potato with bacon bits, and the rainbow sundae afterwards. I was always a bit of an obsessive child (and admitably an even more obsessive young adult), and had the same thing almost every week (with the occasional change in soups). Many things which once defined what I remember of childhood Sundays are now gone.

John Keats wrote, in one of his last letters to Fanny Brawne, “I have two luxuries to brood over in my walks, your Loveliness and the hour of my death. O that I could have possession of them both in the same minute. I hate the world: it batters too much the wings of my self-will, and would I could take a sweet poison from your lips to send me out of it. From no others would I take it”.

Often living seems to be like that…we share two amber thoughts in the same moment.

IMG_8002.jpg picture by masph

3 responses to ““Look at the stars, look how they shine for you, and they were all yellow…” – Coldplay

Leave a Reply

