I have been working on Civil Procedure for the weekend and start of this week. Amidst some worthy distractions. Its pretty heady consolidating all the work that I’ve done for the later half of the year. I still think it is manageable though, and I like Civil Procedure and Conveyancing, in a strange sort of way, the process of ticking the boxes. Criminal law is really getting me down though, mostly because of the Indian and Chinese sea of names that I cannot seem to memorize. And they complain about the Greeks!

I think I will probably be working hard for the examinations all the way to the start of December. I hope I get through it, though its  voluminous and stresses less on substance. It is quite hard to focus given the volume of procedure that is involved. Law in university was alot more enjoyable in comparison. But still it reminds me of the high-spirited way I used to like Xi Zi – the chinese exercise in primary school where students had to copy out the same words or sentences a copius number of times. Everyone pretty much hated it, but I confess one of my favourite things in school was always Xi Zi. I never could write better than everyone else, but doing the same thing over can be quite calming.

It is also rather nice to be well and truly alone typing in the near darkness. I wish there was best friend working on the same thing too, but it is still pretty comforting to hear him recite titles of sections in the Hong Kong version of the Rules of Court. It is as though he is moving where I am, though in a different arena and jurisdiction, and maybe we get the same slanted epiphanies.

Leave a Reply

