Raymonda;

As some old followers of this blog might know, I am very fond of Sylvie Guillem, and was so sad to have missed her performance when she came to Covent Garden to do an exclusive.

Many people regard ballet as a troupe of soft and elegant dancers prized with fairytale myths and white swan dresses, but my favourite ballets have been those which display masterly the intensity of character, alike the night prowl of a lascivious panther. I particularly like her monologues which remind me of short, quiet moments of a gently teased out abandon. My favourite is actually of Sylvie Guillem in Raymonda, and I really do hope to see her again one day.

*I thought of Sylvie Guillem today as I chanced upon this quote:

It’s the heart afraid of breaking that never learns to dance
It’s the dream afraid of waking that never takes a chance
It’s the one who won’t be taken who can not seem to give
And the soul afraid of dying that never learns to live

Leave a Reply

