not being born

Not being born, I didn’t know
this time when Singapore boiled and bled.
Wasn’t spun around by waves
of war cries, strobe lights, sirens, silence,
shouting, nights with a jeep and
a loudhailer; didn’t meet
a man of steel nerves shuddering with sobs,
didn’t sit the rollercoaster of right and might, didn’t live
the cries, the tears, the whys, the fears.

I didn’t know; I didn’t share;
I didn’t fight; I wasn’t there.
And so, although this is my land,
I only love it secondhand.

-Li Xiu Qi, grand-daughter of LKY

Leave a Reply

