Jaybo, a.k.a Monk

from my new book: Creative Spaces – Urban Homes of Artists and Innovators

Interview with artist/art director Jaybo

How did you end up in Berlin?

I came to Berlin around 1984 or maybe 1985. A beautiful love story brought me here. I fell in love with a Berlin girl. I met her in Toulouse (south of France) and she decided to show me the place where she used to live. After two weeks in Berlin I lost my passport. I could not get another one so easily, the Wall was still up, so I had to stay.

How would you describe your approach to art?

Art is quite a new thing to me and I guess it will take a long time before I can understand what it really means. I learnt to always express my feelings visually – call it art if you want, but for me this is just a normal part of my life. All I am able to feel, good or bad, will be transcribed into a picture, a piece, an object. I just do it. I do art like I play music – first a monotone melody, then the rhythm, then a hook.

What inspires you about your apartment?

The view. This is the only place I know in Berlin where you don’t see any kind of buildings. I just see trees. I am above the trees and I got the simple privilege of a natural horizon, which is essential for my recovery time.

You have a lot of retro 1960s furniture. What appeals about it?

I don’t know. Maybe the fact that I was born in the sixties. I love that period’s naive way of believing that we could leave for the moon tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

